Permission Calculator

I remember way back when I was watching a webcast by Kit George and there was some kind of mention of a Permissions Calculator.
I’m not sure what that was and I’ve been a bit behind on my feed reading (3000 with about a 1000 read during this weekend alone) so I’ll go out on a limb and guess that it’s a static analysis tool that specifies for each method, according to its calling graph, what permissions it should demand in order to work.
For instance a method that calls a file system read action should demand read permissions, etc.

I’ll be the first to admit I know diddly squat about permissions and security (and that’s a shame), but I do believe this would be a great idea if Microsoft (or anyone else for that matter) would follow through on this.

Update: Erik Porter notes that calculating security requirement alreadys exists in VS2005 (read comments for more), but this isn’t what I was talking about. I meant creating an application that surveys your assembly and makes notes about how you should decorate your methods, assembly, etc. with attributes using Code Access Permission requests. Maybe even FXCop…

One thought on “Permission Calculator

Leave a Reply

